Monday, January 28, 2013

Happy 200th Anniversay Pride And Prejudice

Stiletto Storytime and author Alyssa Goodnight have teamed up to host a Pride & Prejudice 200th Anniversary Party Hop in honor of, well, the 200th anniversary of Jane Austen's masterpiece. Which, as I may have mentioned, once or twice, is my all-time favorite book. It's one of the few books I've read multiple times and each time I find something new to love about it. I am clearly not alone.

In Pride And Prejudice, Jane Austen penned one of the most beloved stories of love, family, society and discovery of self ever written. While the writing style may show the age of the novel, the themes and the characters stand the test of time resulting in:

Numerous Film Adaptations

1940 film starring Greer Garson and Laurence Olivier
1995 BBC adaptation starring Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth
2005 film starring Keira Knightly and Matthew McFayden    

Hundreds of Book Spinoffs

Quirk Books 2009 Pride And Prejudice And Zombies 
Marvel Comics 5-volume graphic novel set
And an ever expanding number of books exploring the background of the characters, the lives of the characters after Pride and Prejudice, and the lives of the secondary characters.

Amazing Covers Of The Many Editions

 Fantastic Merchandise

And The Neverending Debate - Who Is Your Favorite Mr. Darcy?

Colin Firth

Matthew McFayden

 Thank you, Jane Austen, for bringing so many readers so much happiness for 200 years!


  1. Well duh, how can one not vote for Colin Firth? LOL By the way have you been watching The Lizzie Diaries on youtube? It is absolutely adorable and a must-see for fans of P & P!

  2. My second favorite Austen book! That adaptation with Laurence Olivier reminds me of a Southern Belle adaptation. It's pretty hilarious!

  3. I've tried to watch the BBC version but (GASP) I just couldn't get into it so I've never finished it. Colin Firth is way too brooding...even as Darcy (and yes, I do love him). I'm much more fond of the Kiera Knightly version (double GASP).

    I bought myself a mug with that ardently admire and love quote on it last year for my wedding anniversary. At least I mentioned it to Scott before I bought it... ;)

  4. I will never ever tire of Austen!!! P&P will always be my favorite!!

  5. Ooh, I love the first cover under "amazing covers"! Happy Pride and Prejudice anniversary!

  6. Remember when we went to Jane Austin's birthday party?!! I loved the last movie version of P&P... still haven't read the book.

  7. Remember when we went to Jane Austin's birthday party?!

  8. Beautifully done. I must see the 2005 film version before I can enter the debate, but I shall gladly undertake that as part of my P&P assignment this year.